Options

Built a cisco home lab w/ internet, having bad performance problems??

nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
Here is a diagram of my cisco home lab:


ISP = ISP cable modem in my house

Today I got NAT and ip routing configured so I could have internet access. The problem I am having is that the internet speed seems to have dropped significantly since I added the cisco router and switch to the loop. Websites take at least twice as long to load, if not three or four times longer. Any ideas why???

Here's my run-cfg for Router1:

Building configuration...


Current configuration : 1188 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
service password-encryption
!
hostname Router1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!----OMITTED----!
!
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
ip cef
!
!
!----OMITTED----!
ip name-server 8.8.8.8
ip name-server 8.8.4.4
!
ip audit po max-events 100
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address dhcp
ip nat outside
speed auto
full-duplex
no cdp enable
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
ip nat inside
duplex auto
speed auto
!
router rip
version 2
network 192.168.1.0
!
ip nat inside source list 1 interface FastEthernet0/0 overload
ip http server
no ip http secure-server
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/0
!
!
access-list 1 permit 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255
dialer-list 1 protocol ip permit
no cdp run
!
snmp-server community public RO
!
!
!
line con 0
exec-timeout 0 0
logging synchronous
line aux 0
line vty 0 4
exec-timeout 30 0
!----OMITTED----!
logging synchronous
login local
transport input ssh
!
!
end
2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B

Comments

  • Options
    CoolAsAFanCoolAsAFan Member Posts: 239
    I just started studying CCENT a few weeks ago, so I could be completely off base but still going to try and help because this will help me learn as well! Do you have any collisions, late collisions, or crc errors on those interfaces? If late collisions, probably a duplex/speed mismatch, if crc errors, it may be interference of some sorts. If any debugging is enabled, disable it.

    And that's about all I can contribute lol...I am sure some networking gurus will be here to help you and I am curious as to how they will help you troubleshoot.
    IvyTech - AS CINS (Completed: May, 2013)
    WGU Indiana - BS IT Security
    (Started: August 1st, 2013)

    Transferred: AGC1 CDP1 BVC1 CLC1 CVV1 DHV1 DJV1 GAC1 CIC1 CDC1 UBT1 IWC1 IWT1 TCP1 TJP1 TJC1 EBV1 WFV1 EUP1 EUC1 CJC1 UBC1 TBP1
    Completed: CUV1 BOV1 DRV1 DSV1 CTV1 CJV1 COV1 CQV1 CNV1 TPV1 MGC1 TXC1 TXP1 BNC1 TYP1 TYC1
    Required:
    SBT1 RGT1 RIT1
  • Options
    colby_arcolby_ar Member Posts: 61 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What type of router are you using? Older routers such as a 2611XM tend to max out around 10Mbps.
  • Options
    colby_arcolby_ar Member Posts: 61 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    What about changing to duplux to 100? auto isn't always auto...

    interface FastEthernet0/1
    ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
    ip nat inside
    duplex auto
    speed auto
  • Options
    GroompahGroompah Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Which Cisco Router are you using?
    Older devices may sometimes acting very slow, especially Cisco 800 series.


    You can try to maximize MTU on the interface to the ISP.
    #conf t
    (config)#int fa0/0
    (config-if)#ip tcp adjust-mss 1452
    (config-if)#ip mtu 1492
    


    Another little thing you could try is to use a next-hop address for you default route instead, which avoids recursive look-up.
    If your IOS supports it, you can specify both as well (if not supported, omit the interface fa0/0):
    [B]ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx fa0/0[/B]
    
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    colby_ar wrote: »
    What type of router are you using? Older routers such as a 2611XM tend to max out around 10Mbps.

    Probably what you are running into. You have to keep in mind when these routers were popular one or two T1s (1-3Mbps) was the standard WAN connectivity.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Wow thanks for all the replies.

    @CoolAsAFan, good idea! I checked all the interfaces after clearing the counters and browsing for awhile. All the runts/giants/errors had a 0 count. Good luck on your studies.

    @colby_a my router is a 2621 and my switch is a 2960. Looking at the routing performance matrix you linked, am I reading correctly that my 2621 router can only process 12.80 Mbps? icon_silent.gif
    2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    12 would be best case scenario. Start adding in features like NAT etc and varying packet sizes and you aren't really going to even get that much. So putting this router on a modern home cable connection is going to be a bottle neck.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    12 would be best case scenario. Start adding in features like NAT etc and varying packet sizes and you aren't really going to even get that much. So putting this router on a modern home cable connection is going to be a bottle neck.

    Shoot.. what a rookie mistake. Now can you help me understand.. how come when I run a speed test at a site like speedtest.net, I still get a reading of 30 Mbps? That's very confusing.
    2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B
  • Options
    GroompahGroompah Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    nopixel wrote: »
    Wow thanks for all the replies.
    @colby_a my router is a 2621 and my switch is a 2960. Looking at the routing performance matrix you linked, am I reading correctly that my 2621 router can only process 12.80 Mbps? icon_silent.gif

    Yes,
    Btw here is a performance list -> http://www.cisco.com/web/partners/downloads/765/tools/quickreference/routerperformance.pdf
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Honestly I always consider the results from those sites as inaccurate.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Here's the **** for my active interfaces. The only possibly weird thing I noticed was input errors on the edge router's outside Fa0/0 interface. Full duplex seems to be configured properly.

    Router1 Fa0/0:
    MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit, DLY 100 usec,     reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
      Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
      Keepalive set (10 sec)
      Full-duplex, 100Mb/s, 100BaseTX/FX
      ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
      Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
      Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:43:49
      Input queue: 0/75/47/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
      Queueing strategy: fifo
      Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
      5 minute input rate 320000 bits/sec, 8 packets/sec
      5 minute output rate 4000 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
         303074 packets input, 397604917 bytes
         Received 24652 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
         [COLOR=#ff0000]117 input errors[/COLOR], 0 CRC, 0 frame, 117 overrun, 0 ignored
         0 watchdog
         0 input packets with dribble condition detected
         137962 packets output, 23161118 bytes, 0 underruns
         0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
         0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
         0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier
         0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
    

    Router1 Fa0/1:
    MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit, DLY 100 usec,     reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
      Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
      Keepalive set (10 sec)
      Full-duplex, 100Mb/s, 100BaseTX/FX
      ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
      Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
      Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:43:24
      Input queue: 0/75/52/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
      Queueing strategy: fifo
      Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
      5 minute input rate 10000 bits/sec, 3 packets/sec
      5 minute output rate 349000 bits/sec, 3 packets/sec
         140233 packets input, 24077206 bytes
         Received 230 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
         0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored
         0 watchdog
         0 input packets with dribble condition detected
         279818 packets output, 396167071 bytes, 0 underruns
         0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
         0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
         0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier
         0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
    

    Switch1 Gi0/1:
    MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit/sec, DLY 100 usec,     reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
      Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
      Keepalive set (10 sec)
      Full-duplex, 100Mb/s, media type is 10/100/1000BaseTX
      input flow-control is off, output flow-control is unsupported
      ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
      Last input 04:01:25, output 00:00:00, output hang never
      Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:46:19
      Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
      Queueing strategy: fifo
      Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
      5 minute input rate 95000 bits/sec, 5 packets/sec
      5 minute output rate 6000 bits/sec, 5 packets/sec
         275445 packets input, 391231991 bytes, 0 no buffer
         Received 0 broadcasts (0 multicasts)
         0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
         0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored
         0 watchdog, 0 multicast, 0 pause input
         0 input packets with dribble condition detected
         138640 packets output, 24592730 bytes, 0 underruns
         0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
         0 unknown protocol drops
         0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
         0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier, 0 pause output
         0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
    

    Switch1 Fa0/2 (to LAN PC):
    MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit/sec, DLY 100 usec,     reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
      Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
      Keepalive set (10 sec)
      Full-duplex, 100Mb/s, media type is 10/100BaseTX
      input flow-control is off, output flow-control is unsupported
      ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
      Last input never, output 00:00:00, output hang never
      Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:45:33
      Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
      Queueing strategy: fifo
      Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
      5 minute input rate 5000 bits/sec, 5 packets/sec
      5 minute output rate 109000 bits/sec, 5 packets/sec
         136180 packets input, 24313299 bytes, 0 no buffer
         Received 259 broadcasts (164 multicasts)
         0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
         0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored
         0 watchdog, 164 multicast, 0 pause input
         0 input packets with dribble condition detected
         275760 packets output, 391143854 bytes, 0 underruns
         0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
         0 unknown protocol drops
         0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
         0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier, 0 pause output
         0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
    
    
    
    2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B
  • Options
    nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Honestly I always consider the results from those sites as inaccurate.

    Yea I've got a sneaking suspicion their numbers are a load of bull. I guess if I really wanted to test my speeds I could download download a legal torrent file.
    2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B
  • Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Here are your two symptoms:
    Input queue: 0/75/47/0 (size/max/drops/flushes);
    117 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 117 overrun, 0 ignored

    Your router can't handle the speed that the packets are coming in and is dropping them. Would be curious what the pps would look like if you set the load-interval on fa 0/0 to 30 and did a download test.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • Options
    nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Here are your two symptoms:
    Input queue: 0/75/47/0 (size/max/drops/flushes);
    117 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 117 overrun, 0 ignored

    Your router can't handle the speed that the packets are coming in and is dropping them. Would be curious what the pps would look like if you set the load-interval on fa 0/0 to 30 and did a download test.

    I changed load-interval on my fa0/0 interface to 30 like you suggested. Here are the counters after clearing them and running a 4 minutes download test.
    Internet address is 66.190.101.132/24  MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit, DLY 100 usec,
         reliability 254/255, txload 1/255, rxload 72/255
      Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
      Keepalive set (10 sec)
      Full-duplex, 100Mb/s, 100BaseTX/FX
      ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
      Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
      Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:07:51
      Input queue: 0/75/1/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
      Queueing strategy: fifo
      Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
      30 second input rate 28357000 bits/sec, [COLOR=#ff0000]2364 packets/sec[/COLOR]
      30 second output rate 486000 bits/sec, [COLOR=#ff0000]1066 packets/sec[/COLOR]
         779929 packets input, 1165254434 bytes
         Received 4398 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
         [COLOR=#ff0000]6794 input errors[/COLOR], 0 CRC, 0 frame, [COLOR=#ff0000]6794 overrun[/COLOR], 0 ignored
         0 watchdog
         0 input packets with dribble condition detected
         361828 packets output, 21627953 bytes, 0 underruns
         0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
         0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
         0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier
         0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
    

    I guess the solution here would be to procure a more robust router that has higher bandwidth capability.

    Update: Input lag increased quite a bit during the download test. I can almost feel the router's back breaking as I download large files.
    2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B
  • Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    And there you have it. The 2621XM specs say it can handle ~ 15Mbps and you're pushing almost twice that. Good learning experience and this is one of those cases you run into where having a hardware lab is more useful than a GNS3 lab.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Just a side note...ditch rip like everybody else in the world haha.
  • Options
    nopixelnopixel Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    @Zartanasaurus, indeed good learning experience. i see where it says input rate of 28,357,000 bps, or 27 Mbps! thanks for helping me understand the input errors and overruns.

    @TechGuru80, this is one thing an exam book just can't teach you. i wish i had more opportunities to work on networking in the professional world. i'm looking forward to studying for the CCNA and learning more about ip routing and troubleshooting. right now i feel the urge to knock out my MCSA.
    2018 goal: CCNA Collaboration - B]210-060[/B
Sign In or Register to comment.