Options

Is VMware right for us

DB CooperDB Cooper Member Posts: 94 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm pretty new to VMware, and wanting to know if its right for our company. When I read about the benefits of running VMware, it seems like a no-brainer. But we are a small tribal government, and is it over kill for our infrastructure.

We support 250 users in 8 locations.
Our current servers:
1 2003 Exchange server.
1 DHCP/ and data MS Server 2003
5 Department data servers (2XMS Server2008 and 3xMS Server2003)
3 offsite servers, MS server 2003

Thanks for any feedback.

Comments

• Options
    ITMonkeyITMonkey Member Posts: 200
    Judging from your environment, you are a MS shop. Why not upgrade to Windows 2008 R2 Enterprise or Server 2012 Standard and use the free Hyper-V role that comes with them? By a new server with the money you are saving by not buying vSphere licenses.
  • Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    ITMonkey wrote: »
    Judging from your environment, you are a MS shop. Why not upgrade to Windows 2008 R2 Enterprise or Server 2012 Standard and use the free Hyper-V role that comes with them? By a new server with the money you are saving by not buying vSphere licenses.

I've heard of many alleged "MS shop" environments running VMWare ESXi.

But then, there's also Citrix XenServer if you want something free.
    Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.
    --Will Rogers
  • Options
    TheProfTheProf Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 331 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Unfortunately knowing what servers you guys currently have and what you're looking to virtualize is not enough information to determine the best fit hypervisor. You have to consider other factors that might influence your decision.