Options

Job prospects for CCNA

Atmosphere1991Atmosphere1991 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,
I'm new here, but I will be sitting my ccent this month sometime(as soon as my discount voucher from netacad comes through.) I plan on finishing the ccna at the beginning of this summer. I'm 22, no degree yet, but I am actively pursuing an AAS in Network Administration at a respect CC. I live in the Saint Louis area, and wondering what kind of job opportunities if any I might have a shot at.
I have no IT experience, I managed a restaurant for a couple years after high school. I recently demoted myself to a server, to make time for school. It seems no one will even look at you without a bachelors. Do you guys think I would have a shot at something like a help desk even?

Comments

• Options
    jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd say you have a shot at help desk type work. Interview well and show a willingness to learn and be a team player.

Get your foot in the door and then work up from there.

Dont fall into that mindset of thinking that a CCNA is the golden ticket and end all for your job search.
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    The bachelor's looks nice. I won't lie and wish I had one many days as it is a sign of dedication to something but I have an AAS like what you are working towards.

The CCNA will help you get a help desk or NOC job. Like above said it isn't a golden ticket but it also beats nothing. Even if they want a bachelor's still apply for it and if you don't get the job just keep going and keep applying and keep studying.