Options

Leadership and Anaylitical Experience without IT Experience

mooed_musicmooed_music Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
I put this question out there in the security+ forum but realized this is a much better place for it. I hope that is ok.

A little bit about myself: I do not have experience in IT. In the past 4 months I have earned certs in A+ and NETWORK+ and I'm a couple of weeks away from taking SECURITY+. Although I have no official IT experience I do like to "dabble", specifically with adding a ubuntu server in my home, flashing ROMs on my phone, helping friends and family with their computer problems.... very basic stuff. The kind of experience I do have is being an analyst for the military as a soldier and contractor. This included leading a team in delving through large amounts of data to determine patterns, predict and prevent future actions, and answer any and all questions from the higher ups. Also, finding flaws in our own procedures and creating documents explaining the flaws and how best to correct them. All of this in an organization where Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability is of the utmost concern.

Does being an analyst (I understand how broad of a term that is) for the military in an environment with such a focus on security help in transitioning into a security analyst? Would those in charge of hiring see this as a plus or as not being applicable?

What I'm hoping for is that my analytical and leadership experience on top of my entry level certs would help land a security analyst position as my first gig. Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Yes, I think it would definitely help you. Certainly more help than no previous experience at all. Especially if you go the government contracting route.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    SwitchingGearsSwitchingGears Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□