Options

Server room design

PurpleITPurpleIT Member Posts: 327
So my company is looking at moving and I need to come up with some rough estimates for what the new server room will cost. I’ve never built one from the ground up before and I don’t want to base much off of our existing room because it is so over-sized and poorly designed.

This won’t need to be too big; there are currently 3 four-post server racks in place and the equipment that is spread over a dozen two-post racks could be consolidated into 4 or 5. I need to allow for about 50% growth, but I would still consider this not a very large room. We aren't going to be going crazy trying to optimize the airflow, etc – we just need a no-frills server room that will have some room for expansion.

Does anyone have a book or a website that goes over standard spacing between racks, allowable space for loading equipment, price calculators, etc?

Any tips from people that have gone through this in the past? What do you wish you had done and what turned out to be a waste of time and money?

Any tips about power, cooling, layout, etc are welcome as well.
WGU - BS IT: ND&M | Start Date: 12/1/12, End Date 5/7/2013
What next, what next...

Comments

• Options
    WafflesAndRootbeerWafflesAndRootbeer Member Posts: 555
    There are companies that do what you've been asked to do so you really need to touch base with them and look at the new building you are moving into. A lot of buildings aren't set up for "server rooms" so you may need to work with your employer to find a suitable building that is already equipped or designed to handle a small data center setup. When I worked for a banking company, their server rooms were repurposed office space or closets with no real ventilation or telecom infrastructure and you don't want to get stuck with that!
  • Options
    joehalford01joehalford01 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Only advice I can give is:

Make sure you have dedicated cooling.