Options

Linux Distro for the Linux+

Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
I realize this is a vendor neutral cert, but I'm completely new to Linux. Any suggestions for the distro to use to learn and practice for the Linux+?
Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    tier~tier~ Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    As you said it is vendor neutral but you will encounter questions covering both the Red Hat and Debian way of doing things with package management, configuration file locations, etc.

CentOS and Debian would be my recommendations to spin up in a couple VMs to get your feet wet.
    Let's Connect!
    LinkedIn, Twitter, Blog
  • Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would also recommend CentOS as well!! :)
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63
  • Options
    BryzeyBryzey Member Posts: 260
    I used Centos and debian virtual machines for studying. Can't go wrong.

I also switched my main system to Linux mint and forced myself to do things with the command line where possible.
  • Options
    Thanks everyone. I downloaded the livedvd of centos and will get debian next.
  • Options
    Swift6Swift6 Member Posts: 268 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hey Danielm7,

I would recommend CentOS and Debian. These distros should be sufficient to practice the Linux+ content.

Also since you are new to Linux, here is a map of the various Linux Distros. File:Linux Distribution Timeline.svg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  • Options
    Corndork2Corndork2 Member Posts: 266
    +1 to CentOS and Debian.