Options

Got a Low Offer, But a Great Company - What to do Now? Advice?

RogueJDRogueJD Member Posts: 46 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all.

The long-and-short-of-it is this:

Short:
- Got an offer at the type of work environment I'm looking for, not necessarily the focus, though. It's about 30% less salary than what I -could- make elsewhere. Environment: 9/10. Field: 5-6/10

Long:
- Recently out of the Military. I've been a trainer for the better part of ten years, but in a VERY different, non-IT field. I've been actively pursuing an IT career for the past five. I was fortunate enough to earn a Masters in IT: Information Security. My five-year plan is to gear up for an InfoSec focus.
- I am attending a full-time certification course. I'll be earning a bunch of entry and associate-level certs. It's a lot of hands-on, and I love what I'm learning.
- I went to a career fair hosted by my school. I went there with the notion of simply trying to learn more about the different positions I'd be applying for when I get out of this training in three months. See, I haven't been saturated by IT. I've never worked in the field. I just wanted to learn more about employers, and the potential jobs I'd be searching for.
- Spoke with a guy who represented a software company. He asked what I was looking for. I told him I wasn't necessarily in the market, but I know I want to travel. I told him about me, he told me about a position, and we both lit up! Perfect match.
- They're a small company. Big fish in their little pond, but a relatively narrow scope. GREAT work environment. Everyone's awesome. Super small.
- I sat through several interviews. Great fit, both ways.
- They offered me a job where I'd be training their clients to use their software. Lots of travel. Perfect for me!
- I asked for $55K. They offered $40 for the first year.
- Each and every person there has essentially had their salary raised by about 50% after they "proved themselves".

Here's my dilemma: