Options

Need advice on my IT career pathway/timeline

Sryan176Sryan176 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for my A+and Networking+ exams, and will take my Security+ shortly after. hopefully towards the end of summer I will have all three. Here's my question. I am 31 and I have been a security/data/telecom tech for almost ten years. I have been wanting to make the move over to IT for several years but it just kept getting put to the side. I haven't gotten a definite IT career path setup but I have a general idea.Through being an installation/service technician for several large companies including, Time Warner Cable, ADT Security, CMI Data-Com cabling solutions, and a few others,I have gained what I consider to be a lot of valuable training and knowledge. My fear is that prospective employers may not view me that way due to the fact that my past 10 years experience isn't strictly IT work. I understand that I may have to take a few steps back to move forward, but going into an entry level help desk position is just not possible for me. I cant take that kind of pay cut. I'm really wondering how far I should take my certifications before I begin actively looking for work, and any good advice on which direction I would benefit most from with my work experience coupled with A+,N+,Sec+, and some MS certs would suit me? I know that just having a bunch of certifications without the real world experience is useless. I currently make between 50K and 60K a year, but I just dont know how many more of these 80 hour weeks of crawling under houses and in attics I can take. I am willing to take a 10k a year pay cut to spend a little more time with my family and then pursue some higher degrees. any help?

Comments

• Options
    slotzeroslotzero Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    With that kind of experience, I see a few different options to consider:

• Operations