Options

Please Help!!!

Lefty007Lefty007 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□

Hi!
I am 32 years old from Chicago and have been in accounting for 6 years and absolutely hate it! I have a bachelor degree in Business administration with a concentration in Management. I love computers and technology and think I am some what technically sound. I am thinking about going back to school and getting an associates degree in Computer Networking and Systems. I need some advice from IT professionals on a couple questions that are stressing me out.

1.) Will my bachelors degree hold any weight with an associates in IT with certifications in landing a job? How hard will it be to find a job?

2.) Can I make enough money to live starting out with no experience? I could live on 35-40k starting out.

3.) What would be the best direction in IT to go in for a decent wage with work life balance and stability?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if anyone would like to be a mentor that would be absolutely be appreciated!

Below is the list of classes for the associates I am thinking about taking, please let me know if that is a pretty good foundation or look at something else.

CIS 101 Introduction to Computer Information Systems

CNS 105 Networking Essentials**

CNS 110 Microsoft Windows Desktop Operating System

CNS 111 Microsoft Windows Server Operating System

CNS 116 Microsoft Implementing and Maintaining Windows Network Infrastructure

CNS 117 Microsoft Planning and Optimizing Windows Network Infrastructure

CNS 120 Microsoft Planning, Implementing and Maintaining Windows Active Directory

CNS 141 Cisco Networking Basics Competencies

CNS 142 Cisco Network Routing Protocols and Concepts

CNS 150 Microsoft Windows Desktop Technician

CNS 170 Principles of Information Security

Thank you,

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□