Is my experience good enough?

wallpaper_01wallpaper_01 Member Posts: 226 ■■■□□□□□□□
Been using the forum for little over a year, and must say its amazing. So much experience to gather from, so I've got a question.

I'm wanting to get into Networking, i've pursued the qualifications I hopefully need (IT degree, N+, CCNA and half way through a Masters in Networking). I'm actually currently working at a company doing web design (my first job out of University), I've been here 3 years and I've set up load balancing cloud servers on a VLAN, used Linux Servers a fair bit, built the website and its doing very well. I also created and manage the helpdesk for users.

My question is, is this enough for an entry Networking job? There are quite a lot of 1st line support jobs and IT Systems Analyst (requiring MS Server which I'm currently studying...) jobs at very small companies locally but I'm worried about wasting my time in a job thats not going to help me when I could have enough experience already that would get me an entry level job. I'm 28 now and would really like my first entry job before 30, plus my certs would expire if I don't act before then.

I live in a pretty remote area and relocation is not possible for the next 2 years, which is the problem with the jobs. I'm not learning anymore at my current job but it probably pays more than support role, this doesn't bother me but should I wait for something better to come up or move out to something else asap?

Sorry for the ramblings but as you can tell I'm sort of confused on what path I should take.

Thanks

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Sounds like you have enough for an entry level job, someone might even take a chance for a mid level job on you depending how well you understand those VLANs and LBs you set up.