Options

IT job Arson

NSENSE Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a third degree felon on my record for arson back in 2008. I'm off probation and thinking about taking a computer network/security class from a local school. I wanted to know if I'm wasting my time applying and completing a class that won't give me a job because of my felony. Would I be better off trying to get a job in another country? Didn't take long to find out felons have the worst time trying to find a job. Any help or advise even would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    colemiccolemic Member Posts: 1,569 ■■■■■■■□□□
    That's a tough situation. Completing the course will give you knowledge, and no one can take that away from you, and the more value you can bring to a potential employer, the better your chances at being given an opportunity to move past it.
    Working on: staying alive and staying employed
  • Options
    NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It just depends on the organization. A lot of organizations in the FI/FI service space have a blanket rule. Many other organizations don't.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You could approach a court about having the record expunged. Worth a try.
  • Options
    krjaykrjay Member Posts: 290
    Well completing the class won't hurt your job prospects. If you're interested in the material the class offers I would take it.
    2014 Certification Goals: 70-410 [ ] CCNA:S [ ] Linux+ [ ]
  • Options
    UkimokiaUkimokia Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Even if you leave the country the knowledge from the class could still come in very handy. So I would say take it either way. I would also suggest the approaching a court to get the record expunged.
  • Options
    slotzeroslotzero Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□