Options

IT interest fading; stuck at help desk

FortKnightFortKnight Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, everyone. It's time I sought help for my situation.

I've graduated with a BS in Information Systems in May 2012. Before that, I started a help desk internship at a non-profit social working company in February 2012. I've been at the job since. Along the way, I got the A+ certification in October 2012. I'm not sure if it helped me, however.

It didn't become a full-time, permanent position until last November. Essentially, I've been their underpaid "intern" for 1.5 years. I'm making more now, but it's still only a little over 33k, in one of the most tax-heavy states in the country. I still live with mom. If not for the low salary and student loans, I would have moved out a LONG time ago.

But it gets worse. I've been doing the same thing for the past nearly two years. I honestly am starting to think that not only am I not learning anything, but the very little skills I have now are wasting away. It's nothing but resetting passwords, setting up home offices over the phone, and correcting coworkers' mistakes. (Seriously, these so-called "social workers" treat the 4-person IS department like manure.) Sometimes, I think that getting this degree was nothing but a 6-year, $30k mistake.

The worst thing is... I'm not sure what I want to do next. To be honest, I wasn't sure what I wanted to do in the field while in college, nor do I currently. I took the degree because in year three, I found out the hard way that Engineering and Computer Science were too hard for me (a combo of physics being too hard, and unlikable, unapproachable professors), and Information Systems was my last option.

I have study material for CCNA, Network+, and Security+. I've tried self-studying because classes were too expensive, but it just isn't working. The material is overwhelming. Neither work nor college prepared me for them.