Options

Nervous about interview. Argh!

minitminit Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey Folks,

So I've been looking for a change for quite a while. Finally got called for an interview at a local university, where I worked as a student. I currently work in healthcare IT. It is very hectic, and I'm stressed to the max. I'm hoping working in higher ed. would be less stressful. It's a desktop tech job, so I would have less responsibility then I do now. Pay is about the same.

Anyway, I'm super nervous about the interview. Haven't been on one in 9 years.

How do I try to relax!?
Anyone here work in a higher ed. environment? Do you think it would be less stressful then a healthcare environment?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I worked in higher education and yup it should be a lot less stressful then your current job. I higher ed it comes in waves, super busy for a bit and then slow for awhile. Why be nervous? You have a job already so you won't lose anything and I suspect you will be just fine so don't sweat it. Take a couple deep breathes and stop worrying!
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    Cold TitaniumCold Titanium Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Heh, I did the opposite. Went from university to health care. My experience in higher ed. was like grinch's above. It came in waves. I'm stressed to the point of questioning my career choice being in healthcare now. Relax! If you can handle healthcare you can certainly handle a university gig.
    2014 Goals
    • Pass OSCP (In Progress)
    • Obtain employment in IT Security
  • Options
    oebankoleoebankole Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I currently work at a community college and it definitely has it extremely busy season(Registration).but mehn the benefits/perks are awesome(Snow days, 2 weeks + holiday during xmas, spring break 1 week.....)