Options

Companies don't seem to want to hire new grads as interns...

jjwooyoungjjwooyoung Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated in Spring 2013 and during that time I had a DoD contract through my school. So I pretty much worked all the way to October 2013. But since, I've been having an extremely hard time getting a job.. Honestly, the internships I've had, they started out seemingly worth it, but as time goes on, they always end up with doing research, minor code changes, minor configurations, etc. Basically doesn't result in a lot of experience gathered..

So, because of that, I've been trying to get internships, but companies don't want to hire people who've already graduated. Anyone have any advice? I have a B.S in MIS and have been trying to get entry level jobs. But even for the entry level ones I've seen, they want at least 3+ years.. Another problem is most of my internship ended up with me doing programming. It's something I ended up liking, but was too late into my academic career to want to change to CS and spend another 3+ years in school. Honestly, now, I wish I had changed and stayed... it feels very disheartening to not get called back when applying or after interviews.

Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'm sure most people here will say the same thing, apply to the jobs anyway. It sounds like you are, but just keep going. Maybe post your resume for review by some of the folks here.

As for the degree, I'm just going on the programmers that I know, but according to them CS vs CIS doesn't matter all that much especially once you get some experience if you can actually write code. Any coding projects you can work on while you have the time that you can use to showcase your knowledge and maybe make yourself stand out more vs. other new grads?
  • Options
    proph21proph21 Member Posts: 34 ■■■□□□□□□□