Options

Is Certification a Job Guarantee?

Slim02Slim02 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a 4 year university IT degree (2002). I have never worked in the IT field. I worked my way through college on a Teamster freight dock. When I graduated I had the choice of starting out at the bottom in an IT job or of immediately starting out as a truck driver at 80k+. I chose the later. Now it appears the driving job is going the way of all middle class blue collar jobs in America. I will most likely be unemployed in the next couple of months/weeks. I'm thinking about a career change. I'm tired of numb skull driving and don't want to take the pay cut that is going to be forced on me.

All my college programing was in C++, which I did pretty well at, but my academic record is spotty. I made some good grades but failed two important classes. I had to retake database to get a passing grade. And I failed an advanced programming class. The final project was writing a compiler, and I ran out of time and had to turn in junk.

Would getting Microsoft certification guarantee me (47 y/o truck driver) a good paying job? Is it worth the $2-3,000 to get C#/Visual Studio certification? Would future employers look at my resume and see some one with a 4 year degree who drove truck for 10 years and say no thanks. There are a lot of smart kids graduating from college every year.