Can't determine if this is a good CCENT/CCNA starter lab?

BadLuckIncBadLuckInc Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

This is my first post in regard to looking to purchase a lab or build my own. I have done a thorough reading of Wendell Odom's skillscert site and by doing so have come across a pre-built lab on eBay that I'm not 100% sure if it would work for CCENT/CCNA. I am just getting into Networking and would really like to have actual hands on devices as I study for these certifications. Here is the following link to the equipment:

Link: Cisco Ccent CCNA Lab 2X 1760 WIC 1T Router 2X 2950 24 640 802 200 120 | eBay

If this set is viable, I may shop around for one more 1760 router (I hope this one that's being sold is 12.4T as it just states it's 12.4. I have contacted the seller for this information.) As well as another 2950 switch with cables so I have x3routers and x3switches. Will this be all I need to cover the information for the CCENT and then study up for the CCNA? I'm still new to this router and switch business (only ever using wireless routers for home use, and they were D-Link, never Cisco), so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :D

Comments

• Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think kits are slightly overpriced and usually give slightly lower quality equipment.
    What you are paying for is the convenience of someone putting it together and listing it as a kit for you.

I would learn to use packet tracer or GNS3 for your CCENT studies. Once you are familiar with the equipment you can start shopping for what works for your needs.
  • OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□