Options

Question regarding job salary negotiation

jahazieljahaziel Member Posts: 175 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys..
I'm currently going from "temp/contractor" to perm at my current job. Initially when I got hired as a temp I told them the salary I was looking for. Well fast forward 6 months and its time to fill out the paperwork for getting brought on to the company. When I got hired I knew how to fix computers/basic networking and had knowledge of active directory with some other skills. In those 6 months, I have gain a tons of knowledge, helped with various projects, and what I believe became an great asset to the team. Now I am a outsourced tech for a education environment so the people who handle the salary don't see me at all.

My question is should I ask for 10k more then I currently make? I'm currently enrolled at WGU just got my CCENT told them I'm going for my CCNA in a month or two. Then getting Brocade Cert since their a Brocade shop. With all these Certs i'm getting and all the knowledge and my skills to pick up knowledge on the fly should be a big factor I believe in the pay increase.

Anyways, What should I do? Is 10k too aggressive or should I lower it to 5k more then my initial request.

Comments

• Options
    Tom ServoTom Servo Member Posts: 104 ■■□□□□□□□□
    How much do you currently make? That info will help others decide if 10k may be too aggressive. Keep in mind a full-time permanent employee have additional costs to a company. Often on a pure salary basis a contractor will make more than a regular employee (at least from what I've seen).
  • Options
    bull313bull313 Member Posts: 138