Options

Do I take this help desk job?

markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
So I am now working at a large printer company on a project migrating their computers from XP to 7 and the project ends in March. Figuring I'd cover my behind, I started applying for a bunch of jobs this week just in case it takes a while to find another job. They don't look to be hiring here for any PC Tech jobs (or similar positions) at the moment either.

I have an Associate's degree in IT and I'm going to WGU in March to get my Bachelor's. I don't have any certs yet as I was going to go through WGU for that.

I have about half of a year at a help desk, a year doing remote tickets (volunteering online, but they are trackable tickets), and this PC Technician job doing imaging, laptop repair, troubleshooting, some AD stuff, etc. Right now I make $16 an hour, but again it is going to end soon.

The job that called me is in Denver and is offering $14 an hour for a help desk position. It's contract to hire and after 3 months I get a small raise (the recruiter wasn't sure how much), but then said after putting in a few more months there I should be able to get promoted to a higher level of tech support there and make "45k-50k".

What do you think? I still have around two months. Should I hold out for something a little better or not? If the latter is true, then I'd be inclined to go there. I have a phone interview with the company next week and I'm pretty confident it's mine if I want it. I was going to ask them some of the same questions and see what kind of vibes I get.

EDIT: Update post #10

Comments

• Options
    ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
    I believe you should, but continue looking internally and externally, though most steps up the IT ladder come from internal opportunities.

Good luck!
  • Options
    bub9001bub9001 Member Posts: 229 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Would you have to moving, or just commuting?