Just graduated, now what? Need some help

amigo23amigo23 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, first post here.

I graduated with a BS in Information Systems, do you think it is worth it for me to study for the A+ and get certified?. I don't have any work experience in the IT field job yet.

My guess is to get an entry level job such as IT support or Help Desk to start my career. I don't know if the Comptia certifications will help on my resume, since I need to start with something to get into the industry. Any tips? Thank you.

Ps: Also, I can speak Spanish fluenty, do you think it can help on my resume, especialy in the IT field? If so, any tips how to list it. Thank you in advance.

Comments

• dpsmooth15dpsmooth15 Banned Posts: 155
    I am not going to give you advice per say, but I will say a lot of college graduates and non college graduates are having difficulties finding a job with A+. You can search the forums and find quite a bit. I have said this once before, I will promise to never say it again, the A+ is two exams. About 188.00 X 2 =$376.00..and that is IF you pass the first exam.If you fail one $188 X 3=$564.00 I believe the investment could be made towards another cert.
    P.S I have seen postings for "Preferred" Bilingual .. Yes it could possibly help, I think so. But also take into consideration the area city/state and this is 2014. If you say you are in Arizona or Texas and you speak spanish the chances of you being the only one that fits the criteria are slim, they might have 900 applications if you are in W. Virginia the chances might be a little higher they might have 9 applications (just playing) 90…. Just being honest, the only way!icon_redface.gif
  • amigo23amigo23 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you for your answer dpsmooth15,

I know I can pass the A+ if I review it. I like the way people here are very enthusiastic for the A+. I just need to know if it is a good foundation.