Options

I need your advice.

kihunkihun Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys, Thank you for reading my post. I am sure many of you guys started from where I am so I need your advice.

I was honorable discharged from the Marine Corp after four years in active duty as Infantry rifleman and now I am currently attending community college to transfer to GMU. I am studying for applied Information Technology and I am on my second term. I have been taking 5 classes per semester trying to cut some time off since I am not young icon_sad.gif (27)..

I have been going to school full time since I got out and I am not working right now. But I'm starting to think that I need to build my resume up by putting some IT experience. However, I did work at reputable company as data center operator for about two years before I joined the Marine Corp.

What should I do at this point? I have no certifications nor full college degree. I have looked around for bootcamp schools for IT and it saids I can have certification (A+, network +) in seven days but it cost couple thousand dollars. I emailed to see if they can accept GI BILL but I'm still waiting on answers.. I do have active security clearance (It expires 2 years after discharge).

I know it's been asked numerous times in this forum but should I start with A+ and network + certification and start looking for a job in DoD area since I have clearance? if so, what job title can I look for? help desk? data center operator?

How did you guys study for a+ and network + in short time?

Again, Thank you all!! icon_cheers.gif

Comments

• Options
    BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    You can do A+, Network+ and Security+ on your own, you do not need a bootcamp for these. Check professormesser.com for free training videos. Download the Kindle versions to your tablet, laptop, etc so you are not carrying around extra books.

DoD requires Security+ as a minimum, so you might want to add that to your list.