Options

What skill's are needed to become a Security Analyst or Network Security Analyst

GreenHornetGreenHornet Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm creating a white board targeting 3 specific job roles that I've been researching for the last 2 months. Most of the job boards are not specific enough in describing the necessary skills desired. I've condensed the job titles from Dice, Indeed, and Simply hired job websites and come up with the following list, but I need more specifics from the forum.

Linux-- Administer, LDAP, Apache, Backtrack, Virtualization configurations (need more details on what I should focus on)

Firewall--Cisco ASA and Juniper SRX. The most I got from this was VPN config and SSL, but I know there's more.

IDS IPS---Doesn't state if Open source or vendor specific is needed. I'm thinking Snort and Suricata Things I can download on my own

Python Scripting---I've found some sites and have also purchased a book "Violent Python" to at least get a feel for the what I need to know.

Wireshark---I'm getting more familiar with this and packet analysis

Database---Oracle or Sql. I have CBT nugget videos on Oracle and I'm taking a college course on Databases currently

I would just like to hear from members that either have held, currently hold, or interview candidates for these job roles. I understand that experience and time in trenches plays a role. I've been in It for 6 years now. I've worked desktop support, CDN Engineer, Managed Hosting Enginer, and now Network Support Engineer. I've currently purchased 2 Juniper SRX's and I've set up my gns3 to support cisco asa's. My budget is not extensive so I cant go into further debt in pursuing this. Also I cant afford SANS training and my current company wont pay for this.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Don't forget the foundation of security analysis - TCP/IP.