Options

Resignation - Good Idea?

Alhaji265Alhaji265 Member Posts: 205 ■■■□□□□□□□
I been with this Telecommunications company for 4 months now. First, I started at Level 1phone support but realized it wasn't for me. When I submitted my two-week notice to my manager, he asked if I want to do work as an field technician, which I accepted.

Since being a field tech, I realized this type of work isn't for me (I was previously a field tech for a PC company before). I like enjoy networking (Cisco) and management has there eyes on me (coming late, coworkers complaining to manager(s) about my lack of participation, taken days off).

So my question is, should I:
1) Resign without a job lined out before they fire me.

2) Get my CCNA (CCENT in February), leave my current job for another one.

3) Stay and get fire which will make me look bad.

What do you all think? Don't hold any punches.

Comments

• Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    Honestly if this is how you treat your career you're not going to make it anywhere.

How about you start showing up early, giving 110% at your job and showing you care about bettering yourself and your work? Then if you still want to leave you'll be able to find something new.
  • Options
    datacombossdatacomboss Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would focus on #2 and pickup your level until you get another job.
    "If I were to say, 'God, why me?' about the bad things, then I should have said, 'God, why me?' about the good things that happened in my life."

Arthur Ashe

• Options
    100k100k Member Posts: 196
    If I were you I would stop coming late and put more effort in what you are doing. Even if you dont like it pick up whatever skills you can add to your resume then leave if its really not for you. Getting Fired is never good. Leaving a job without something lined up is not very smart either.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod