Options

Passed CHFI 312-49v8

MODVLVSMODVLVS Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Background:

The only reason I took the test is because it's part of the WGU MISA degree program. Just as a background, I have a B.S. in Computer Science, have some network security training through the military, and about 3 years worth of managerial experience through the military. I'm not too technical in a sense nor do I really desire to be. My job is to recognize the technical skills of my personnel and coalesce them to get something done. The certs I have from WGU so far include CCENT (January 2013), CEH (June 2013), and now CHFI. My employer paid for CISSP, I passed the test first time around in October 2013.

I'll admit, I wasn't too excited for the CHFI exam. I took the CEH back in July and after this test I can confirm I'm not a fan of EC-Council. Their material just seems rather disorganized and the material they test on just seems all over the place.

I spent about a three week period studying, studying maybe 2-4 days of each of those weeks for about 3-6 hours on those study days. On night beforehand, I just went through the Kleiman book chapter summaries.

Study materials:

uCertify - I read through a few of the chapters and skimmed through the others. The practice exams were okay, but seemed to focused on tools, especially EnCase. I will say this: the practice exams are NOTHING like the real exam.

iLabs/iClass - I didn't do too many of the iLabs, maybe two or three. I blew through about half of the iClass videos, overall they were very informative and the instructor was very pretty clear in getting ideas across that I may not have gleaned from the text.

"The Official CHFI Study Guide" by Dave Kleiman - This book was really the most informative. I'm already familiar w/ a lot of topics discussed in the book, so it was nice to be able to skim over the stuff I already knew so I could concentrate on stuff I wasn't too familiar with or was learning about for the first time.