career path... the future of IT... i want money! What should I do?

kevkevndkevinkevkevndkevin Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, wanted to get some input from everybody about what I should do.

Background: I currently work in cloud computing doing data protection and recovery as a service for a service provider. I've been here about 2 years and this is my first real IT job.. I was able to learn a ton, from systems administration to sql/databases to networking which I found to be great. As a Backup Admin, I dealt with different customers/environments each day which really allowed me to learn fast. Unfortunately, the cloud services part of the company isn't doing well and they are closing down and moving people out to different parts of the company.

My choices are to continue doing operations work in a production environment doing internal IT support for the company (primarily AD work.. i think learning here will be real slow) OR I can move to a Pre-Sales / Sales Engineer role for IaaS (AWS, Google, HP Cloud) or Data Protection/Security (Symantec, EMC, McAfee).

I'm not sure which path to take... ultimately I want to end up being an architect because I hear where that's the money is. Everyone that I have spoken to has said that doing operations/strictly technical work is not where you want to be. They say there's limited money in that field unless you are the absolute best at what you do. They say customer facing roles combined with technical exp is where you want to aim for.

The thing is, I have a very limited amount of technical / hands on experience in a production environment so I'm not sure if I should try and get more.... or move to a pre-sales engineering role right now. Either way, I am excited to learn but I want to make sure I have a solid foundation to build upon for the future.

Thoughts?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod