Options

SAN/NAS Clarification

SsuperdocSsuperdoc Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I have some doubts with NAS, I work as a system administrator for a few years now and i haven't practically implemented SAN/NAS setup with iscsi or FC hence i'm here to seek help on NAS part, do NAS devices come with management portal with setting up for iscsi LUN's and are the cables used between NAS device and switch/server is a normal Ethernet Cable or it will be a different cable?

Regards,

Comments

• Options
    prampram Member Posts: 171
    It just depends on the hardware. Most filers can serve NFS/iSCSI/CIFS. Some of them have a NIC, HBA, Infiniband, etc etc.
  • Options
    kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    SANs work on FibreChannel, FibreChannelOverEthernet, and iSCSI (essentially ethernet) which use block storage. Where as NFS is just file storage. NAS are generally ethernet, but you can get FAS as well, utilising fibre.

They can have the benefits depending on which way you do, but in most cases, SAN is the better option, NAS are great for holding and running your iSOs from.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com
  • Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    To complicate things, a SAN is technically not a device / an appliance, but the actual network - or Storage Area Network :D

So basically you can connect NASes through SANs *hides* :p
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • Options
    kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    jibbajabba wrote: »
    *hides* :p
    ..where did he go?!? icon_neutral.gif