Absolutely floored in a Net Eng. discussion today

2»

Comments

• apr911apr911 Member Posts: 380 ■■■■□□□□□□
    EdTheLad wrote: »
    The guy seems a little up himself to me. It sounds like you work in configuration and implementation and he works a pre sales role trying to design a network. When i mean trying to design i'm putting emphasis on trying. I work as a test engineer which means i deal with design engineers everyday, most of the time their designs don't work as they don't understand the nitty gritty of how protocols work together. This happens as the design engineer moves further from the config aspect and more to a higher overview. Now if i heard one say how i'm a technician because i configure etc i'd probably punch him in his face. Maybe the guy you spoke with was rusty on the protocols etc you were chatting about and used the technician line to avoid going more in depth while at the same time making himself look superior, anyway some people are ******!

So very true. I worked a "network architect" who was so far removed from the actual configuration that he was convince you couldn't route RFC1918 addresses. Every single one of his designs was absolutely horrible and caused no end of trouble to setup and troubleshoot for the admins supporting the environment.

Ive also worked with a CCIE who drew every one of his network diagrams upside down with the internet at the bottom. Functionally not an issue but it caused no end of confusion when trying to interpret which portion of the network he was referring to. He was also convinced the entire environment required public IPs for what was largely intranet routing.

It seems the OP has since come to realize this same thing given his own experience with this particular engineer.