Options

Interested in Security, which way to go?

bull313bull313 Member Posts: 138
I'm thinking of starting with Net+, then ICND1 and ICND2. After, Sec+ then CCNA Security. I have NO EXPERIENCE with Cisco or security, but am usually a quick learner. Many of you have already shared valuable resources (Professor Messer, Wendell Odom, Todd Lammle).

Any thoughts on if this is a viable path? All recommendations are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance! :)
"Follow your dreams. You CAN reach your goals. I'm living proof. Beefcake! BeefCAAAAAAAKKKKE!!!"-Eric Cartman

Comments

• Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm partway through a similar plan. I did Sec+ first, then Net+ in preparation for CCNA. After a short detour with Microsoft, I'm back in the CCNA saddle and halfway through the CCNA Sec OCG. How familiar are you with TCP/IP, the OSI model, and other basic networking concepts? If you have a passing familiarity, I'd recommend going straight for ICND1 and bypassing Net+ (or getting the Net+ book but not wasting any money on the test). Once you have CCNA, no one is going to care about Net+.

Security+ I would still recommend as a general introduction to the field. CCNA Security is much more granular and will take you through things like configuring ACLs on a router, whereas Security+ will just mention that ACLs are a good thing to have. I would also recommend taking CCNA Security as soon as possible after ICND2; I waited over two months and now I'm having to brush up on my basic IOS again, as I forgot things like how to configure 802.1q trunking and spanning-tree from the CLI. It comes back, but it would have been easier if I hadn't taken that time off.
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□