Options

A good sign ? *UPDATE* Job offer Made - Need Advice

TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
Well, I had a job interview yesterday for a Network Administrator position at a software development company. I felt good during the interview, I answered their questions well, but there were a few areas they were looking for that I have no experience in. Namely: VoIP, Installing applications for clients over a network using the MSI, and Cisco switch experience.

Of course I knew I did not have these skills and was honest and told them I had no experience using any of that stuff. Today they called and asked for my MCP number and told me they were going to check my references. So I'm wondering how my chances would be to get this job. I was thinking that if they were not interested at all they wouldn't even have called, but nonetheless it is exciting anyways. This would be a step up from my current position, which I really like but unfortunately doesn't pay enough money. So, from other experts here, is this a good sign that I might get the job? My references are rock solid so at least I know they won't let me down. Only time will tell icon_confused.gif

Comments

• Options
    kevozzkevozz Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think if their going to that much trouble, it's a really good sign. Good Luck!!!
  • Options
    QUIX0TICQUIX0TIC Member Posts: 277
    Sounds awesome. Now, what you should do is make sure you get your CCNA to let them know that you are so enthusiastic about the job.. you were studying in the interim hoping to pick up the skills you need to fulfill their job needs.
    "To realize one's destiny is a person's only obligation."
  • Options
    mobri09mobri09 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 723
    I wish you the best :D
  • Options
    TrailerisfTrailerisf Member Posts: 455
    Get the job and go buy the books... Nothing is better for learning than trial by fire. icon_twisted.gif

Good luck.