Options

Which job to take...

beaucaldwellbeaucaldwell Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I'm an odd position here and am not sure what to do. I applied for an internal transfer at my last company back in September knowing layoffs were coming. I had my first interview the morning I got layed off. The job I applied for I eventually received an offer for (pending clearance approval), I relocated at my own expense from San Diego to LA. My start date kept getting pushed back because of gov't shutdown last year and eventually I got a call from a recruiter and took that job cause I had to start working. Well this morning I got a voicemail and email stating my clearance finally went through (I had to jump through lots of hoops for this) and that I just need to retake my drug test and I can start immedietly. Here are the pro's and con's.

Current job I'm at:
Disney Production Studios (doing general deskside support)
I'm a contractor, likely to get pulled on to Disney directly or to Xerox after like 9months, but I'm like 2nd/3rd in line...
No medical benefits
$24/hr
Long commute (32miles each way)
9:30am-6:30pm (I don't like these hours as I have no time in the evening after traffic for me)
My skills are way under-utilized and it's not quite enterprise environment like im used to
I do get a lot of time to study here though, some networking equipment to tinker with
Some nice perks for disney stores and such, if i get pulled on its free disney annual pass...

Job I was suppose to work that I just got the clearance approved on:
TSA (Federal Air Marshall Field Office support)- Being the 1 onsite person running the desktop support show, manager offiste
$25/hr
Short commute (12 miles each way)
I can pick my hours (come in anytime between 6am-8am, gives me time in the evenings to do what i want)
some occassional travel (yay!)
Public Trust Clearance (yay! as i would like to get into security, this is a great stepping stone)
keep my 2.5years of tenure...