Options

CCSA questions

JasminLandryJasminLandry Member Posts: 601 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm thinking of taking the CCSA exam.. it's not that I need it or anything it's just that I believe I could learn a lot from the material and be better at my job. We have a Check Point firewall at work and I've been using it regularly for the past 6 months.

Do I have to attend a training class to be able to pass the exam (like what VMware does)? or I can just read a book and practice on my own?

What is the best study material for this exam?

How much does the exam cost?

Comments

• Options
    mrkdiskmrkdisk Member Posts: 18 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I used to be certified in Checkpoint. I'm thinking of revisiting it after the CISSP but not sure. The last time I checked the exam was about $200 US. Years. There are many different versions of the CCSA now, if not mistaken most people are recommending the R76 exam. I took a week long course at Verisign which included books. I'm probably going to look for some Checkpoint books and do CBTNuggets.
  • Options
    netstatnetstat Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Exam costs around Euro85 in Europe. You can grab the books and study however material is expensive when new. I recommend searching for second hand material.

I have done the R75 CCSA and CCSE over the past year and a half. The R76 is just out and there are some changes in the R75 exam as is based on SPLAT while the R76 is based on GAiA. I haven't worked with GAiA yet but from what i saw it seems to be a Cisco CLI clone so this makes things somethat easier if you are cisco familiar. SPLAT is based on redhat. Check Point offer some mock tests on their websites too.

As a side note, I would also say that the official books are not very useful unfortuntely though. I guess if you download all the blade manuals from their website and study them you will pass. There is a lot of material but either away you have to read those manuals and run some labs.
  • Options