Options

Masters in Legal Studies?

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
I work as a regulator so I am waist deep in regulations and audits on a daily basis. I was hired based on my technical skills and have done well. But I keep feeling like I am a step behind due to the lack of legal training. I'm pretty sure I'll be staying in the field (albeit might be moving to the investigative side within my agency and perhaps others down the road). I lack the time and the funding to pursue a law degree. Also, I don't want to be a lawyer. I started looking at graduate degrees in legal studies and I'm thinking that it will solve my problem. Any thoughts?
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Without knowing your exact situation it's hard to say, but from what you told me it seems rather extreme. Are there legal books out there that scope into the subject matter you are trying to learn? I have a friend who is in a similar situation as you but slightly different. He has his CS Masters but works with propriatery software and hardware that meters utitilies such as gas, electric and water. They usually hire in engineers for these positions however he is fully fluent in Spanish and English and they have a heavy presence in LATAM. He has been there 5 years or close to it and still struggles with the hardware and the electrical engineering side of things. Software, Database no problem but like you there seem to be other elements at play here. He accepted he was stronger in other areas than them and weaker in other areas. That was his strategy but each situation is different. Short answer no, but if you have the resources and time and the will and you think it will ad value then do it.
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■