Options

looking to enter the IT field...what certifications / education path would be best?

neurocompneurocomp Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
hello all!

i graduated college 2 years ago with a BS in Neuroscience and minors in Computer Science and Biology.

I ended up working for a mobile app developer for awhile after graduation (part-time job during school turned into full-time afterwards) and I enjoyed it a lot, but there wasn't that much technical experience. Only more basic, high-level GUI-based stuff.

Well that company fell flat and I've been looking for a job for awhile now...and it's tough to say the least.

I've been thinking about how to get more into the computer career field, as I don't really want to pursue Neuroscience at the moment (but maybe if I can't get into IT work).

Sorry if that was tl;dr but here is my question:

What is (are) some great certification(s) that I can use to land a full-time entry-level IT job? What are the hottest job titles / fields right now?

Or should I somehow go back to school to take more courses in computer science to make it equivalent to a major in it (is that possible / acceptable?)

I've been looking into CompTIA and Red Hat certifications, but I'm honestly overwhelmed at all the choices and not sure which one I should choose to dive into, which will lead to the best job prospects, etc.

If it helps, I am looking for a job in the NJ/NY/PA/CT area.

I would really appreciate any/all help/suggestions on this matter.

And I really hope this thread is in the right section. Sorry if it's not. icon_rolleyes.gif

Comments

• Options
    dpsmooth15dpsmooth15 Banned Posts: 155