Options

Degree + CCNA but no IT work experience =?

cbremercbremer Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ill be graduating in april with a degree in Information assurance/Network security and I just passed the CCNA, however I have no real IT job experience. Do I have any hope of landing a job in security? or will I still have to start off at a helpdesk type job?

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Do you have job experience? If so, what type of experience do you have and is it necessary with a Networking position?
  • Options
    I have job experience just not anything related to I.T
  • Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I haven't seen anything in the way of entry level security positions out there. I know it's late but could you try to get an internship or anything while in school to get some experience?
  • Options
    dpsmooth15dpsmooth15 Banned Posts: 155
    cbremer wrote: »
    Ill be graduating in april with a degree in Information assurance/Network security and I just passed the CCNA, however I have no real IT job experience. Do I have any hope of landing a job in security? or will I still have to start off at a helpdesk type job?

If you get the Security+ you have a great chance to getting a sort of help desk gig on a nearby Military Installation. Dont ask me how I know, But it is more to it than Certification, you might live in West Virginia and the job market for IT might not be good, its more factors to the equation. the job market is not good in all 50 states. Maybe relocate? Add to CCNA, out of the 20+ certifications out there guess what is on the top 5 list that most people get CCNA just food for thought
  • Options
    Im hoping to get one more cert before the end of the semster either the sec+ ceh or ccna security, which would look best
  • Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□