Options

New Guy / WGU Student

Flat4ForLifeFlat4ForLife Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,
A little background, I am new here and starting at WGU on March 1 going into IT Sec. I am transferring my AAS from the CCAF and my A+ which gets me 42 CU completed and 81 to go. With a full time job/life I won't be able to go as fast as some of you, but I will try and do it as quick as I can obviously. I work as a computer operator (but also help the engineers with networking/setting up software/hardware) and have worked tech support in the past, so I have a little IT experience, but obviously not too in depth.

Back to the Job/Degree side, I saw a post about ratbuddy's thread and his progress in which he stated that at WGU they will let you take the higher level courses and as long as you pass the class/cert, you can get a "requirement satisfied" for the lower level courses. At the same time, this means you would forego the MTA certs and just obtain the higher level ones. My question is would this be worth it? From what I can find, the MTA certs are not really valuable in the job market and on a resume. This would also allow me to potentially complete my degree faster which is better all the way around (better ROI for degree cost, get degree faster for a job, etc.) I asked my mentor about this and he confirmed that I can do this with the following classes:

Upper Level Course

Lower Level RS

Security +

Security Fundamentals

Network +

Network Fundamentals

Web Programming or Web Technologies

Web Development Fundamentals

Introduction to Programming or Object Oriented Design

Software Fundamentals

Database I

Database Fundamentals

Operating Systems

Windows OS Fundamentals