Options

I passed both 801 and 802 last week, Monday and Friday respectively

geokelleygeokelley Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Now I am certified A+. I'm starting this process at 50, deciding to do so after my wife and I became pregnant with our youngest child, a beautiful baby boy born on January 1, 2014! I am approaching this with three masters degrees, (finance, poli si, and education). I was very unsatisfied with all of those career paths and embraced my passion, the land of geekdom, as my wife calls it.

So, I started in October, studied straight through until a week before my son was born, and took off 5 weeks after, enjoying him with my wife on maternity leave. I studied sub sections of A+ by going to full cert books, in other words I used Network + books to learn the A+ sections, Windows 7-680 for OS, Security + for security, you get the picture. I feel it helped me conceptualize things better, and I feel ahead of the game of my next certs: Network + (in a week probably), MSCT 70-680 Windows 7, ( probably about three weeks) and security + ( in about six weeks). I also had already done the MSFT Office suite, getting expert in word and excel, and passing the access exams. When I pass powerpoint, I will have the Master designation.

I'm loving this, its exciting learning this, and it is fun to do this all day. I am fortunate where my wife could support us for a few months (she's a physician) and I could do this all day most every day. I will be a stay at home dad until I get the right job to learn and grow (I'd love to get in network administrations and info sec) and we have a nanny ready to start as soon as I get a job.

I kick myself every day for not doing this 15 years ago and avoid the grad school crap, and a more than a few jobs I hated. I am working on learning Powershell, and love using the command line. I am excited and look forward to more good news from me on the certification front, very soon.