Options

Just staring out?

Don't worryDon't worry Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, I am new to the It world and will be receiving a few certificates iA by the end of this summer. I am wondering which certifications I should get? If I had the option of obtaining three, which ones would you recommend and why? Of course, salary and demand should influence which certifications are useful to obtain as well. I was thinking Cisco Voice, Cisco Security and possibly something Microsoft related. Would my CCNA be required if I obtain the Voice or Security certifications? Also, how valuable is a Microsoft certification, is it relevant? Lastly, I have no degree nor any experience and am located in the Midwest.

Comments

• Options
    M3CodyM3Cody Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    how knowledgeable are you with computers?
  • Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It depends what you want to do. Microsoft certs are highly relevant for a systems administrator in a Microsoft environment but much less relevant for a network engineer or a sysadmin who works exclusively with Red Hat. Cisco's entry level (CCENT) is a great introduction to basic networking, and it is required for CCNA Security or Voice (you don't have to have the full CCNA R&S for those, just the CCENT).

I would recommend taking CCENT and deciding if you like networking. If so, take the ICND2 test for CCNA. If you work with VoIP a lot, take Voice; if you want to get into security, take Security; if you want to work with desktops and servers, take one of the Microsoft certs for Windows 7 or 8 or Server 2008/2012, depending on the environment you're working in.
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    First, why are you getting involved in IT? Do you love it or do you just love the thought of big money?