Options

Network Engineering and Programming?

KawaiiiiKawaiiii Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, this is my first post. Sorry if it's in the wrong section!

At my school, there's something called AOIT. woottonaoit.org

I am currently a freshman in High School, and already know that I want to go into programming (probably gameplay programming or something similar).

It offers three pathways: Programming, Information Resource Design (Web Development), and Network/Hardware

Here is a detailed description of each of the courses: woottonaoit.org/courses/

And the courses you would take for each pathway: woottonaoit.org/pathways (Design Technology Solutions (DTS) is something you need before you start any pathway, mostly everyone takes it freshmen year).

I am wondering that would it be in any way beneficial to me if I took Network Engineering too? I've heard a bit about SDN and OpenFlow and all that, but not much.

So, my question is, would it help me in any way if I took Network Engineering (already going to take programming next year)? Is there a job that merges Network Engineering and Programming together?

Comments

• Options
    Params7Params7 Member Posts: 254
    It will be useful, specially if you have interest to go into infosec. Cisco's newest cert tracks are about fusing programming and networking knowledge.

http://www.techexams.net/forums/general-certification/98107-new-cisco-certifications-sdn-nfv.html
  • Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    No matter what you do in IT, programming can be extremely useful and make you more valuable than you might otherwise be.
  • Options
    DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I agree a good fundamental understanding of program will make you a strong in any field of IT. Either because you use it daily, write the odd script, or just will understand how application work.
    • If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. Albert Einstein