Options

IT Security Questions

SCL1419SCL1419 Member Posts: 6 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am a Computer Information Systems major at a community college with a focus on IT support. I've been working at Geeksquad for about 5 years now but as I am coming towards the end of my school work and I am deciding on where I want to go. I've been giving alot of thought to IT security and have been researching alot of certifications. I'm not that great when it comes to programming but I'm fairly decent with Networking and I enjoy learning about it more. I am planning on getting my A+, Network+, Security +, and checkpoint from now till the end of fall 2014

My overall plan is to get at least 2 years as help desk support, try to move into a network admin position for 2-3 years and from that point, see if I can squeeze my way into an IT Security position as a network security engineer or security auditor. With all this being said,

1. Would this be a reasonable approach or unrealistic?
2. What are some other certifications I can take that are reasonably priced? I've notice alot of them are in the 4 to 5 thousand dollar range which is way too much for me.
3. Im also looking to get involved in some local groups who specialize in IT security so that I can network myself. Are there any websites that would show me local IT security groups?

Thank you in advanced to anyone who is able to answer my questions.

Sean

Comments

• Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If your goal is to work in security, then that's what you should focus on. It would be a huge mistake to work in networking for two years if you don't need/want to. Many like to say you round back to security later in your career; however the field is changing and that may not be necessary for you. Attending infosec conferences / group meetings is a great idea. Don't be afraid to intern either if it's possible.

Learn other technologies, yes - But your goal needs to be a security job.