I really need your guys' advice

RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
I really need your input on something. I've enrolled into a program at my local school (BCIT), and the program is CIT . I entered this program because I wanted to become a Network/System Administrator, and not a coder. I'm just about wrapping up the first year of the program, and so far it's pretty much been nothing but coding. I'm really struggling with my coding courses, and I really fear that I'm going to fail the more advanced ones come term 3 and term 4. On the other hand, I'm absolutely acing my networking and administration courses.

What I want to ask you is this: I currently have a BA in history, an A+ certification, and a Network+ certification (2 really basic certs, I know). (But, I'm also studying for the CCNA on my own, and I'm going to study for the MCSA (windows server 2012) after I complete the CCNA. So, do you think I might be better off just finding an entry-level position and working my way up while obtaining these certs, or should I just stay in my program, and risk failing my coding courses.I'm only asking because, like I said, I'm afraid of failing my coding courses. But, I also feel that I haven't learned much in terms of network/system administration work. I really feel that what I'm teaching myself while studying for the CCNA and MCSA has been 10x more useful for my future career.

Thanks, a lot!

I should note, that I have some minor IT work experience. I was the pseudo tech-person at my former job. I helped install and set up the LAN, and I resolved all in-house IT issues regarding Microsoft office, outlook, and any internet-connection problems. I also helped administer windows server 2008 by controlling the database on it with security privileges.

Comments

• White WizardWhite Wizard Member Posts: 179
    I've found experience is king in IT.