Certs for 34 year-old lawyer wanting to get into IT? (entry level)

bridgerambridgeram Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
Long story short, I'm looking for a career change. I've been doing the law thing for 5 years now and I want out. Working with computers has always been pretty easy for me (was a hardcore PC nerd in HS/college) and I'd love to get into IT. I understand I'd have to pay my dues and start at an entry-level position. I'm ok with that.

Any advice as to what certifications I should start with, given my age/career so far? How do I get my foot in the door? CompTIA A+? MCTS 70-680?

Should I look into going back to school/taking (online?) classes, or do I have a shot at an entry level position by passing some certifications?

I'd really appreciate any advice you guys can give me.

EDIT: I live in NYC by the way.

Comments

• SweenMachineSweenMachine Member Posts: 300 ■■■■□□□□□□
    bridgeram wrote: »
    Hi,
    Long story short, I'm looking for a career change. I've been doing the law thing for 5 years now and I want out. Working with computers has always been pretty easy for me (was a hardcore PC nerd in HS/college) and I'd love to get into IT. I understand I'd have to pay my dues and start at an entry-level position. I'm ok with that.

Any advice as to what certifications I should start with, given my age/career so far? How do I get my foot in the door? CompTIA A+? MCTS 70-680?

Should I look into going back to school/taking (online?) classes, or do I have a shot at an entry level position by passing some certifications?

I'd really appreciate any advice you guys can give me.

It really depends on what you want to do within IT.. have you put much thought into a route? like networking, sysadmin, end user support, programming ect ect

I will say that the MCST cert for the 70-680 expires in June, so I wouldn't go for that one if you are looking for a piece of paper..
  • bridgerambridgeram Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□