Options

ICND2 Pass! (also belated ICND1 pass post)

knahknah Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed ICND1 about a week and a half ago, and I passed ICND2 today. Not a bad score (907) considering I feel like I could have spent another 2-4 weeks reviewing. I started studying January of 2013 with Netacad classes at a CC. The school teaches the curriculum slowly enough that it takes a year to get through all 4 classes. I wanted to take the tests sooner but kept finding reasons to put them off (other certs, Cisco changed the exams, I wanted the Netacad discount, started a new job, got sick, one of the classes was cancelled, life). Anyways, after studying on and off for over a year, I felt like it was time to bite the bullet, cram a bit, and take the tests.

Review of Study Materials (in case this helps someone):

Networking Academy: Very valuable. Lets you touch real equipment. Very good labs. Goes deep with lots of information well beyond what you need to know for the exam (Netacad quizzes are about 2-4x harder than the actual exams)--this could be seen as a plus or a minus. Highly recommend. The big downside is that they took so long.

CBT Nuggets videos: I really like Jeremy's videos; by far my favorite video trainer. I like to speed up the videos where he discusses concepts to 1.5-1.7x to keep from getting bored. For configuration videos I like to follow along in Packet Tracer / GNS3. Over the months, I probably watched most of the old CCNA videos and all of the CCNA 2013 videos. Highly recommend these to someone whom liked Jeremy's style and is willing/able to follow along.

Lammle's Book: Pretty good. After Netacad, I felt like it didn't go very deep. Probably would be best to cover topics in Lammle and video training before covering them at the Academy. That said, I think he covers most all of what you need to know to pass. I'd recommend the book, but would suggest supplementing with more labs/videos. I have no idea how Lammle stacks up against Odom.