Options

Server Lab Recommendation

josephandrejosephandre Member Posts: 315 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey guys.
Been browsing these forums for a few years, but this is my first post. This board has been an amazing resource since I began going to school and looking to transition into the IT field.

I've been working help desk for a little over 2 years now, and am looking to make the transition to Server Administration as there are some openings with a really great company that I'd like to join. I've taken a server admin bootcamp through work, and watched a bunch of cbt nugget videos, but nothing beats the real thing, so I'd like to set up a lab.

I've tried a couple times to set up a couple vm's through virtual box with server 2008 R2, but I'm on a macbook air and the resources get hogged up pretty quickly and responsiveness varies. I've grown more and more frustrated trying to go this route so was looking for some recommendations for a decent set up.

I don't want to spend TOO much money if I don't have to, but I'm also not opposed to spending some if it's warranted. So basically I'd just like to know if you guys would recommend a laptop, desktop, white box, or what, to use as a lab set up for 2008 R2... ideally want to run a few simultaneous VMs... DC, DNS server, client etc.... need to get pretty familiar with IIS and SQL

any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    atechatech Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If you're going to setup a lab then you'll want to have a dedicated desktop/whitebox. Ideally you'll want a CPU that has either AMD or Intel virtualisation support (AMD-V Intel VTx), 16gb RAM, 200+gb HDD (or SSD if you can stretch). Motherboard doesnt really matter all that much as well as having multiple NICS (as you would be creating virtual networks using either ESXi or Hyper-V or XenServer, take your pick) as it is a budget build.