Options

Tales from the helpdesk....

2»

Comments

• Options
    --chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
    User calls and says each day a different key on her keyboard wouldn't work. One day it's P and the next C. I went to look at it in person and I discovered a tiny bead that was rolling around under the keys.

I also love when I have to drive 40 minutes to another location to push a power button for someone.

Paid both ways? I would love it too :)

And a bead in a keyboard? Nice! That would drive a few people nuts around here.

The above screen cap was a MOBO that went kaput.
  • Options
    Russell77Russell77 Member Posts: 161
    As a telco field tech I had to work with our help desk for testing and updating tickets. After awhile we would get to know each other and you would build a bond of trust so we did not have to question the other techs skills or motives. One day I had to call in to a tech who did not know me and thought I was slacking.

I was called out to an aprtment that I had been to about a year before to check a phone jack for no dial tone. I remember fixing up the wire the last time I was there and wondered what could be wrong. This place was on one of the worst streets in the city but I remember it as being tolerable as far as being clean. When I got there I had found new people had moved in and the place was a stinky mess. They wanted a new jack in a bedroom. I started to go to the room and saw feces in more than one spot on the floor. I turned around, checked to make sure the phone could call in and out from the jack I put in last time, then went outside and called the help desk.

(Me) I can't do this job because the apartment is too messy. The customer has dial tone in the living room.

(Help desk) They have a wire plan you have to go in and do it.

(me) I can't the apartment reeks because there is feces on the floor.

(Help desk) Is it human feces?

(Me) How would I know? Does it matter?