Advice on Retraining After Brain Injury

BigWigBigWig Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm an IT professional with 15 years experience in systems support, infrastructure planning and implementation, and project management. I have old MCSE certifications and a Solaris admin certification. I'm also a certified PMP (project management professional). I'm not a developer.

I was in a bad car accident last year and suffered a traumatic brain injury. As a result I can no longer work in a noisy open office environment or data centre. If I work for more than half an hour in such an environment I suffer terrible headache symptoms similar to migraines. Otherwise, I'm the same as I always was cognitively. I'm stressed about being able to take care of myself and my family. I'm looking at having to retrain so I can either work from my home office or work solo in a quiet, private office. I'm currently in rehab and have some time for retraining and preparation for a career change. I'm open to taking new certs.

Ideas? Suggestions?

Cheers,
BW

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Acupuncture..ear plugs near noisy equipment?
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It sounds like you'd have enough experience to find a remote/work-from-home position. That would be my goal if I were you.
  • da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    I had TBI from Iraq, it took me a while to come back to a normal(ish) state. I still can't be around flashing lights and lasers plus certain frequencies can drop me to my knees. You can adapt as scaredoftests pointed out or you can switch to something like Auditing or possibly Infosec. The industry you do IT for can play a major part in the noise factor; I work in an R&D community so they are fairly quiet. Previous jobs were really noisy and I did the same job.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod