Options

Recruiter asking for resume in Word format instead of PDF

Cert PoorCert Poor Member Posts: 240 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm brand new to dealing with recruiters and have read some interesting things on both TechExams and online. Some are more honest than others. This one recruiter would like to recommend me to a company but first needs my resume in Word format because "some HR systems don't accept PDFs."

This immediately set off warning bells, since ALL systems I've encountered accept PDF. My guess is he's lying so that he can change some things about my resume, which tampers with the integrity of it. Heck, maybe I could sign it with my private key and then password protect the editing. icon_twisted.gif After all, he SAID he just wants it in Word format for submission purposes, so a read-only Word document wouldn't be relevant, no?

My question to you guys is what's your experience with this? Do they want to add their recruiting company logo to the header of your resume, or are they actually going to go in and screw around with the content and change stuff? That seems highly sketchy if so.
In progress: MTA: Database Fundamentals (98-364)
Next up: CompTIA Cloud Essentials+ (CLO-002) or LPI Linux Essentials (010-160)
Earned: CompTIA A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+, Proj+
ITIL-F v3 2011 | ServiceNow CSA, CAD, CIS | CWNP CWTS

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    A lot of time recruiters will replace of your contact info with theirs so the company can't contact you directly. Not really that big of a deal and I wouldn't worry about it. It's not like they couldn't convert your PDF into a Word doc anyway.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    CompuTron99CompuTron99 Member Posts: 542
    I've had a portion of my resume header replaced with the recruiter information. They removed my address, phone number, and email address, and replaced it with the recruiting companies letterhead.
  • Options