Options

Need a bit of advice

ocrigginsocriggins Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone. I am bit of a peculiar position in my career. Right now I manage all the IT for a small company (we recruit for pharmaceutical companies). Long story short, I came into the company working in a recruiting role. One of the reasons they hired me was because I had familiary with computers--no schooling just self taught (your typical modder and overclocker). A year and a half later I am running all the IT. I actually learned as I went along and designed the whole network. I setup AD in Windows Server 2003 and setup Exchange 2003. I even ran all the new network lines. I am responsible for all the software and equuipment purchases. We have about 25 users or so, but it's divided up into three divisions. I am actually pretty pround of what I done because we are pretty secure and don't get any virus or bombarded with spam. This is not a sophisticated network by any means (I sure if one of you guys came in and took a look, you might be shaking your head a bit).

Anyway to my question. I just recently got my A+ and I am going for Network+ in two weeks. My goal for now is to get MCSA, but IT was not my original career choice and I am 2/3 done with a grad degree in Educational Technology (basically computer-based instruction). Should I keep on pumping out the certifications (they are paying for the exams at work) and work on finding a better job where I can get a bit more experience or should I hang on here a bit until I get certified?

Basically, is my experience at my present job really going to hold a lot of weight in the job market? I just turned 30 and I don't want head down a new career path if I am late in the game, but I do pick up fast. My ideal goal would be to work in a university using all my IT and computer-based instruction skills. What do you guys think?

Thanks big-time in advance,

OC

Comments

• Options
    milliampmilliamp Member Posts: 135