Options

Need Advice

GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm just getting back in the industry after a break raising my kids and I'm going to take the Network+ exam to help me find a job. I'm currently studying for it and my problem is I'm an Apple user (gasp). Anyway, I do have a BS in CS and have worked on Windows before, of course. I'm looking for advice on whether to just buy a Windows laptop or buy a kit to build my own PC. I thought if I built it I would learn so much more than just buying one. (I do have hardware and network experience, it's just been a long time.) Is it even worth it at this point to build my own?? Thanks and I hope this isn't a stupid question.

Comments

• Options
    Infosec85Infosec85 Member Posts: 192 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Network+ has nothing at all to do with building PCs, that would be A+. Furthermore the certification is vender neutral so does not matter what OS you are using as you'll be learning about networking and not hardware and software.
  • Options
    That's good to know. I thought I would be totally behind without brushing up on all of the hardware specs. Comptia does recommend passing the A+ first before taking the Network+, which was why I was thinking about building my own PC. However given what you said, I'm going to try to pass the Network+ without taking the A+ because I think I have a fairly good, but rusty, understanding. I'm about half-way through studying for the exam and I think I was freaking myself out. Thanks Infosec!
  • Options
    quickman007quickman007 Member Posts: 195
    Do you have any other certs? Are you getting the Network+ to get into the networking field? If so, skip it and go with the CCNA. The CCNA will give you a skill set while N+ will give you some general knowledge.

That's just my 2 cents.
  • Options