Options

Becoming an Information Security Analyst

Everclear05Everclear05 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I would like to ask the forum what certifications would help an individual seeking a career path as an Information Security Analyst. I have the A+ cert already and I'm working on Security +.

I have 7 years of experience in IT as a helpdesk support troubleshooting hardware/software. Also have experience in moves/add/changes on Active directory accounts & MS exchange. I have little over a year experience in troubleshooting FP, MX, and DC servers.

Any help you can provide is appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    First things first, welcome to TE!!!

Thank you for the reppin' the DMV (DC/MD/VA). I'm from Maryland :).

1. Certification wise you will definitely want to look into the Security+. This exam build upon the Network+ so I would probably suggest grabbing that while you're at it. This book is the rave of the forum in terms of passing it:

Amazon.com: CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide (9781439236369): Darril Gibson: Books

You may want to look into Microsoft certs as well as you have experience with AD and Exchange. Look into the MCITP line (for 2008 Server) or the MCSE/MCSA line (for 2003 Server).

2. I would say at this point in the job market, apply anywhere you can and network network network. You never know who might get your foot in the door with a defense contractor.

3. Figure out where in InfoSec you want to end up (Consultant, Manager, Pen Tester/Auditor, etc.). With every sunrise comes an expanding of this new field and the title "InfoSec Analyst" is a lot more general than we may have thought a year ago.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□