Options

Questions from a Newcomer

a2rutleda2rutled Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey. I'm kind of new to the whole "tech" world. Up until this point I have enjoyed computers (and all technology) recreationally but recently have found my interest building. I'm currently a junior studying physics and chemistry at Western Michigan University and have loosley committed to the idea of High School and possibly university teaching. Thing is, I really love to build, fix and troubleshoot stuff (especially computers and cars) and I have found myself continually trying to find a way to make a living doing this. My questions for you all are these:

1) Can you find a job and make a decent living with ONLY certifications and experience (i.e. no degrees).

2) What can you do with just A+? (i.e. what kind of jobs/wages?)

3) Does more certifications = higher salary?

4) What kinds of wages should one expect in this field? What kind of hours?

5) Looking back on your own careers, would make the same choices again? What would you do differently? The same?

Thanks, I know its a lot to reply to, but I would truly appreciate your help.

Comments

• Options
    NoodsNoods Member Posts: 168
    1) Can you find a job and make a decent living with ONLY certifications and experience (i.e. no degrees).

I have, I sometimes feel I got lucky though. I got an entry level tech support position with a prominent cable internet provider. They continue to hire, even when the economy is slow. Full benefits, pay started at $12/an hour, which is decent for not having a degree or cert at the time.

Entry level tech support/repair. That speaks for a lot of entry level jobs. I think $8-13/an hour is a fair estimate, the IT market in your location will factor in though.