Options

MAC address layout!

solnsusiesolnsusie Member Posts: 128
hi
as im studying for the CCNA, i see that the low order numbers of the MAC Address are on the left and the high order numbers are on the right, waht does it mean high - low order numbers, is it on every byte, or octed, or bits? i dont understand it,

please check this out from the Odom ICND2 book page # 595:

To be complete, the figure points out one other small detail regarding the EUI-64 interface
ID value. Splitting the MAC address into two halves, and injecting FFFE, is easy. However,
the EUI-64 format requires setting the seventh bit in the first byte of the value to binary 1.
The underlying reason is that Ethernet MAC addresses are listed with the low-order bits of
each byte on the left, and the high-order bits on the right. So, the eighth bit in a byte (reading
from left to right) is the highest-order bit in the address, and the seventh bit (reading from
left to right) is the second highest-order bit. This second highest-order bit in the first byte—
the seventh bit reading from left to right—is called the universal/local (U/L) bit. Set to
binary 0, it means that the MAC address is a burned-in MAC address. Set to 1, it means that
the MAC address has been configured locally. EUI-64 says that the U/L bit should be set to
1, meaning local.

thanks

Comments

• Options
    SharkDiverSharkDiver Member Posts: 844
    solnsusie,

I read over that several times, and it still doesn't make sense.

I have always heard the highest-order bit referred to as the one with the most value. So, the highest-order bit in a byte would be the first bit. I am not sure what they are saying.

When I read it, I did notice that they say that the seventh bit should always be set to a one. I seemed to remember that the bit should be flipped either way. If it was a one, it needs flipped to a zero and vice versa.